BLOG: SoCal Welcomes New and Seasoned Water Board Members to Office
December 10, 2018

By Charley Wilson, Executive Director

Election results can come in a bit slow in California, where voters love their mail-in ballots and some races don’t get decided for weeks. Even one month after Election Day, counties still were processing vote-by-mail and provisional ballots. That’s why I wanted to wait a bit for the slow grind of democracy to come to its conclusion before posting our congratulations to all of those Southern Californians elected to water board positions in November.

In all, nearly 100 Southern Californians were elected or re-elected to water boards in the 2018 midterm election. Three currently serve on the SCWC Board: Steve Elie of Inland Empire Utilities Agency, Scott Houston of West Basin Municipal Water District, and Steve LaMar of Irvine Ranch Water District.

Many are incumbents, but some are new to water issues. Some, such as Darcy Burke of Elsinore Valley Municipal Water District, have been elected for the first time to their local water boards after years of career experience in the water sector. Others, such as Peer Swan of IRWD, faced their first day as an elected official nearly four decades prior. No matter the background, these newly elected water leaders bring a multitude of experience and opinions to their service.

Fragmented and hyper-localized water systems and districts can sometimes mean little opportunity for collaboration. But now more than ever, water agencies are working together to find solutions to the difficult problems facing California water supplies, whether it’s working together on sustainable groundwater management plans or coming together to support large public works projects such as California WaterFix.

With Southern California accounting for more than half the state’s population, it is in our best interests as a region to work together toward a reliable future supply. I may be biased, but I think we do a pretty good job at this. I’d be delinquent in my duty as Executive Director if I didn’t mention the role that SCWC has played since its founding in 1984 as SoCal’s unifying voice on  water issues. Our members come from Kern County to San Diego County and everywhere in-between, and from business, agriculture, government and water to drive change through education and advocacy to ensure reliable water supplies for the region.

Many of the new elected officials are active with our organization. Some are new to us. Either way, we extend our warmest welcome to you and invite you to take part in one of our task forces or attend our upcoming quarterly meeting and luncheon. Learn what we’re all about and see how we can work together to strengthen the region’s water future.

Congratulations to New Water Board Members (by county)


Indian Wells Valley Water District

Stanley G. Rajtora

David Saint-Amand


Central Basin Municipal Water District

Bob O. Apodaca (Division 2)

Arturo Chacon (Division 3)

Martha E. Camacho-Rodriguez (Division 1, unexpired term ending Dec. 4, 2020)

La Habra Heights County Water District

Brad Cooke

Karen Baroldi

Palmdale Water District

Don F. Wilson (Division 2)

Vincent J. Dino (Division 5) 

Pico Water District

Victor Caballero

Andrew C. Lara

Robert A. Martinez

San Gabriel Valley Municipal Water District

Bruce H. Knoles (Division 5)

Three Valleys Municipal Water District

Carlos Goytia (Division 1)

Upper San Gabriel Valley Municipal Water District

Anthony Fellow (Division 1)

Jennifer Santana (Division 5)

Valley County Water District

Jazmin M. Lopez

David L. Muse

Lenet I. Pacheco

Water Replenishment District of Southern California

Willard H. Murray, Jr. (Division 1)

Sergio Joseph Calderon (Division 4)

West Basin Municipal Water District

Harold Williams (Division 1)

Scott Houston (Division 4)


El Toro Water District

Kathryn Freshley

Mike Gaskins

Irvine Ranch Water District

Doug Reinhart

Steve LaMar

Peer A. Swan

Moulton Niguel Water District

Kelly Jennings

Donald R. Froelich

William “Bill” Moorhead

Mesa Water District

Marice Depasquale (Division 3)

Shawn Dewane (Division 5)

Orange County Water District

Dina Nguyen (Division 1)

Kelly E. Rowe (Division 7)

South Coast Water District

William “Bill” Green

Dennis Erdman

Yorba Linda Water District

Brooke Jones

Al Nederhood

Phillip (Phil) D. Hawkins

Municipal Water District of Orange County

Brett Barbre (Division 1)


Coachella Valley Water District

G. Patrick O’Dowd (Division 1)

John Powell Jr. (Division 3)

Desert Water Agency

Jim Cioffi

Patricia Oygar

Joe Stuart

Eastern Municipal Water District

Stephen J. Corona (Division 2)

David J. Slawson (Division 5)

Elsinore Valley Municipal Water District

Darcy M. Burke (Division 1)

Jared McBride (Division 3)

Mission Springs Water District

Steve Grasha

Nancy S. Wright

San Bernardino Valley Municipal Water District

T. Milford Harrison (Division 4)

San Gorgonio Pass Water Agency

Blair M. Ball (Division 4)

Western Municipal Water District

Gracie Torres (Division 2) 

Yucaipa Valley Water District

Jay S. Bogh (Division 3)

Joyce McIntire (Division 5)


Big Bear Municipal Water District

Larry Cooke (Division 2)

Bighorn-Desert View Water Agency

Judy K. Corl-Lorono

Jo Marie McKenzie

John R. Burkhart

Chino Basin Water Conservation District

Margaret Hamilton (Division 3)

East Valley Water District

Ronald “Ron” L. Coats

James Morales Jr.

Phillip R. Goodrich

Inland Empire Utilities Agency

Steve Elie (Division 3)

Jasmin Hall (Division 4) 

Indian Wells Valley Water District

Chuck Griffin

Peter E. Brown

Joshua Basin Water District

Mike Reynolds

Rebecca Unger 

Mojave Water Agency

Mike Page (Division 4)

Running Springs Water District

William Charles Conrad

Mark Acciani

Tony Grabow 

San Bernardino Valley Water Conservation

David E. Raley (Division 2)

San Bernardino Valley Municipal Water District

Susan Longville (Division 3)

T. Milford Harrison (Division 4)

Paul R. Kielhold (Division 5) 

San Gorgonio Pass Water Agency

Blair M. Ball (Division 4)

Yucaipa Valley Water District

Bruce J. Granlund (Division 2)

Jay S. Bogh (Division 3)

Tom Shalhoub (Division 5) 


Helix Water District

Dan McMillan (Division 1)

Rainbow Municipal Water District

Carl Rindfleisch (Division 4)

Ramona Municipal Water District

James Hickle (Division 2)

South Bay Irrigation District

Steve Castaneda (Division 1)

Hector M. Martinez (Division 4)


Goleta Water District

Kathleen Werner

Thomas Evans

Montecito Water District

Cori Hayman

Brian C. Goebel

Kenneth J. Coates

Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District

R. Brad Joos (At-Large)

Jeff Clay (Division 2)

Kevin Walsh (Division 3) 


Camrosa Water District

Jeffrey Brown (Division 2)

Casitas Municipal Water District

Angelo Spandrio (Division 4)